Patience, persistence…and peanuts, part V

I have to admit that I have been having great fun inveigling the critters into taking a treat from my little black bag of peanuts. It all started when I was walking down the path in the park, and a chickadee landed on the edge of the bag, ducked his head inside and flew off with a peanut in his beak.

I am amazed at their reaction when they see me coming with the bag and their willingness to poke their heads into the opening to grab a peanut. The chickadees and titmice will land on the bag while I am holding it, but the nuthatches will only come to the bag after I set it down and back away. Squirrels, of course, are quite fascinated by the peanuts. As long as the bag is sitting on the ground or on a bench, they will help themselves, returning again and again for more peanuts. 

Today I tried to entice some deer, and they are curious but much more reticent. They apparently can smell the peanuts and also smell the human, and they only approach the bag if I am a good distance away from it. Here is a slide show with pictures from my photowalks yesterday and today.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Trail Walker

I'm an enthusiastic amateur photographer and nature lover, inviting you to join me on my trail walks.
This entry was posted in birds, critters, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment